Measures concerning the entry into Luxembourg of third-country nationals

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the ban on the entry of third-country nationals into the territory of Luxembourg is valid until 31 December 2020.

Furthermore, the following persons are currently authorised to enter the territory of Luxembourg:

  1. third-country nationals who have long-term resident status as well as any other persons with a right of residence or holding a national long-term visa issued by an EU Member State or a Schengen country;
  2. healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals;
  3. cross-border workers;
  4. seasonal workers in agriculture;
  5. transport personnel;
  6. diplomats, staff of international organisations and people invited by international organisations whose physical presence is required for the well-functioning of these organisations, military personnel, development cooperation personnel, humanitarian aid workers and civil protection personnel in the exercise of their functions;
  7. passengers in transit;
  8. passengers travelling for imperative and duly justified family reasons;
  9. seafarers;
  10. persons wishing to apply for international protection or for protection for other humanitarian reasons in Luxembourg;
  11. third-country nationals travelling for the purpose of study;
  12. highly qualified third-country workers if their employment is necessary from an economic perspective and the work cannot be postponed or performed from abroad.

For traveller categories 8, 11 and 12, an express request for the issue of a specific certificate must be sent to the Passport, Visa and Legalisation Office (BPVL) by email (

For further information on this subject, third-country nationals may contact:

  • the BPVL via:
  • the embassy of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in their country of residence.

In addition, since 1 July 2020, third-country nationals who are resident in one of the following countries are also authorised to enter the territory of Luxembourg:

  • Australia;
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity at EU level);
  • South Korea;
  • Japan;
  • New Zealand;
  • Rwanda;
  • Singapore;
  • Thailand;
  • Uruguay.

Third-country nationals residing in Morocco are no longer allowed to enter the territory of Luxembourg since 14 August 2020.

Travellers from the countries listed above will need official documents proving their residence in one of these countries (residence permit, residence certificate, work permit, etc.). These documents must be accompanied by a translation into one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg or into English.

Furthermore, from 21 August 2020, third-country nationals aged 11 or over who wish to travel by air to Luxembourg from a third country not included in the above list, even if they have a temporary residence permit or a residence permit, must present the negative result of a biological test for Covid-19 before boarding. This does not apply to members of the flight crew and to passengers on a stopover waiting for a connecting flight and who are not leaving the transit area. The test must have been carried out less than 72 hours before the flight.

Citizens of the European Union (EU), the United Kingdom and the Schengen countries, as well as their family members who are nationals of one of these territories (EU, United Kingdom and Schengen), can enter freely into the territory of the European Union. As regards family members who are third-country nationals, they will have to meet the usual conditions of entry in Luxembourg, whether they have planned a short stay or a long stay in Luxembourg.

Last update