COVID-19: Latest temporary measures for third country nationals

The temporary restriction for third country nationals has been extended until September 15, 2020 inclusive.

Citizens of the EU, nationals of the UK and of countries associated with the Schengen area, as well as their family members, are free to enter the territory of the European Union, regardless of the purpose of the stay and not only to reach their home. Are equally exempt from temporary travel restrictions citizens of San Marino, Andorra, Monaco and Vatican / Holy See, as well as members of their families.

Note, only people with either a letter of agreement for family reunification or a residence permit as a family member of a citizen of the European Union, either a temporary residence permit or residence permit issued by a State as a family member of the European Union will be considered as family members.

Short stay trips on the basis of a short stay visa (visa C) are not part of the exemptions. In addition, the following categories of third party nationals are allowed to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg:

  1. Third-country nationals who hold long-term resident status in accordance with European Directive 2003/109 / EC relating to long-term residents, as well as any other person with a right of residence in accordance with European directives, as well as to national law of a Member State of the European Union and of countries associated with the Schengen area, or who hold a long-term national visa from one of the abovementioned States;
  2. Healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals;
  3. Frontier workers;
  4. Seasonal workers in agriculture;
  5. Transport personnel;
  6. Diplomats, staff of international organisations and people invited by international organisations whose physical presence is required for the well-functioning of these organisations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers and civil protection personnel in the exercise of their functions;
  7. Passengers in transit;
  8. Passengers travelling for imperative family reasons;
  9. Seafarers
  10. Persons in need of international protection or for other humanitarian reasons
  11. Third-country nationals travelling for the purpose of study;
  12. Highly qualified third-country workers if their employment is necessary from an economic perspective and the work cannot be postponed or performed abroad.

For categories of travellers 8, 11 and 12, for which until now no document attesting to the status in question was provided, the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs respectively the Embassy of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in the country concerned will issue a specific certificate. For any further information on this subject, please contact the Passport, Visas and Legalization Office, by email: or by phone: 00352 247-88300.


From 1 July 2020, third country nationals residing in one of the following countries are also authorized to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg: - Algeria - Australia - Canada - China (subject to reciprocity at European Union level) - Georgia - Japan - Montenegro - Morocco - New Zealand - Rwanda - Serbia 3 - South Korea - Thailand - Tunisia - Uruguay.

Last update